Black Panther Party (BPP)
The Black Panther Party: Challenging Police and Promoting Social Change: This artcie, which also contains visual content and a YouTube video, was written by the National Musuem of African American History and Culture and provides an excellent overview of the Panthers origins.
The Black Panther Party: A resource curated by Howard University's Law Library that contains links to legal cases involving the Panthers and the broader struggle for Civil Rights
Black Panther Party: History and Geography: A fascinating resource created by the University of Washington's Civil Rights and Labor History Consortium. The site documents the movement and actions of the BPP in six major Metropolitan areas.
It's About Time-Black Panther Party Legacy and Alumni: A site curated and maintained by surviving BPP members that includes videos, oral histories and a lot of other useful content.
Black Panther Party-Platform and Program: A copy of the original BPP platform courtesy of GMU's History Matters project.
Black Panther Party in Detroit: An excellent resource created by the University of Michigan's History Lab
The Black Panther Party: Pacifica Radio/UC Berkeley Social Activism Recording Project: Curated by UC Berkeley, this fantastic archive contains a ton of audio-visual content, including newsreel footage and clips from interviews and speeches. NOTE-This site also contains material related the SNCC and The Free Speech Movement
The Malcolm X Project at Columbia University: A great resource on the life of Malcolm X that includes audio-visual content.
Malcolm X Interviewed by Robert Penn Warren: Audio, as well as transcripts, of Malcolm's conversation with Robert Penn Warren
Students for a Democratic Society (SDS)
SDS: A student created multimedia resource that's part of UGA's Civil Rights Digital History Lab. Good foundational information source
SDS: Another excellent foundational information source from the University of Michigan
SDS Chapters 1962-1969: A great resource created by the University of Washington's Civil Rights and Labor History Consortium. The site documents the growth of SDS throughout the 60s
Anti-War Movement
Vietnam-era Antiwar Protests: A fascinating resource created by the University of Washington's Civil Rights and Labor History Consortium. The site presents maps and a timeline of anti-war protests between 1963-75
Vietnam War Protests: Part of UCSB's Living History project, this resource contains excellent content related to the Anti-War movement
Anti-Vietnam War Protests--Pacfica Radio/UC Berkeley Social Activism Recording Project: Curated by UC Berkeley, this fantastic archive contains a plethora of audio-visual content related to the anti-war movement
Free Speech Movement (FSM)
Mario Savio's FBI Records: Fascinating documents pertaining to one of the leading voice's of the Free Speech Movement
Free Speech Movement and its Legacy: Curated by UC Berkeley, where the movement began, this fantastic archive contains a plethora of audio-visual content related to campus's Free Speech Movement
FSM at 50: A Berkeley site commemorating the legacy of the Free Speech Movement
Free Speech Movement Digital Archive: Also maintained by UC Berkeley--the resource is filled with oral histories and other useful content relative to the FSM
Free Speech Movement Archives: Billed as "the only FSM website created and maintained by FSM vets."
Free Speech Movement Oral History Project: An invaluable collection of oral histories given by those who participated in the FSM
UC Berkeley Greek Theater-Free Speech Movement: A clip from the Bay Area Television Archive featuring speeches by Mario Savio, Chancellor Clark Kerr and others. NOTE: Check the 'Related Items' beneath the clip for additional videos of Savio speeches
Women's Rights Movement
A Women's Liberation Timeline 1960-1077: This timeline was put together by the Chicago Women's Liberation Union Herstory Project.
Women's Liberation Movement--Print Culture: An excellent archive maintained by Duke University that includes digitized versions of speeches, pamphlets and manifestos.
Catching the Wave: Harvard's digital repository of photographs from the Women's Rights Movement
Feminist Majority Foundation: This links to a trove of important documents relating to the Women's Rights Movement, including the National Organization of Women's Statement of Purpose among many other texts.
Gay Rights Movement
Gay Liberation Movement: A student created multimedia resource that's part of UGA's Civil Rights Digital History Lab. Good foundational information source
Stonewall-Then and Now: A Harvard Gazette article examining the legacy of Stonewall 50 years later
Stonewall and the Unfinished Gay Revolution: Part of Ohio State's 'Origins' series--this article also examines Stonewall's legacy and importance witin the wider context of gay rights
Gay and Lesbian History: Part of the New York Public Library's Digital Collections project, this resource contains a large number of papers and photographs.
Environmental Movement
"Environmental Crisis" in the Late 60s: Part of the University of Michigan's 'Give Earth a Chance' project. This is a nice overview of why the health of the environment begun to inspire activism
"The Evolution of Environmental Movements": A solid overview of the modern environmental movement from UW's School of Marine and Environmental Affairs
The Sixties--Environmental History: A timeline that examines major environmental movements during the 60s
The Prague Spring
"When Soviet-Led Forces Crushed the 1968 'Prague Spring'":A nice foundational level overview of the 'Prague Spring' events from Historiy.com
Prague Spring '68-NSA: This is portal to documents pertaining to the Prague Spring from the National Security Archive
The Soviet Invasion of Czechoslovakia: A fascinating little archive containng an interesting range of materials about the invasion
Soviet Invasion of Czechoslovakia: This is a link to the Wilson's Center's declassified digitial archive on the Prague Spring
Prague 1968: A link to an archive of Paul Goldsmith's photographs of the Prague Spring
Protests in Paris 1968
Student Protests, Paris 1968: A timeline put together by the British Library
Fifty Years Later, France is Still Debating the Legacy of Its 1968 Protests: Nice foundational source on the legacy of the May 1968 protests from Smithsonian.
The Paris Riots of 1968: A three part timeline and audio-visual resource created by the CBC
Paris May-June 1968: An archive assembled by Mitchell Abidor, author of May Made Me.
New Right
Young Americans for Freedom: A student created multimedia resource that's part of UGA's Civil Rights Digital History Lab. Good foundational information source on various strands of the New Conservatism
Senator Barry M. Goldwater Collection: A link to Arizona State's (mostly) digitized collection of materials related to Senator Goldwater
Barry Goldwater: This links to speeches and communications collected by the American Presidency Project
Remembering the New Right: A nice foundational resources that traces the New Right's impact on policy and political activism in the current century.
