This is a ProQuest database that's perfect for researching topics across multiple disciplines. It features a user friendly interface that allows you to search by topic. This database also features a wide-range of reliable content type, including magazines, newspapers and journals. SIRS is accessible via all networked STA computers but is not yet available remotely.
A versatile database with a robust Science module that features a plethora of reference material, including definitions, diagrams, experiments and textbooks. After opening InfoBase select 'Science,' then take a look at the section entitled 'Biomes of the Earth.' Infobase can be accessed off-campus with the following credentials. Login-info-username: stalbans password: library
An incredibly useful database filled with full-text articles culled from hundreds of major domestic and international newspapers. This is an excellent resource to utilize when first selecting a topic and gathering your initial research.
Biomes and Ecosystems by Earth Observatory: Mission Biomes
Created by NASA this site provides a good introduction to Biomes by giving you interactive missions to understand the nature of a given Biome.
Published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science, Science is one of the most preeminent and distinguished science journals in the world. Packed with cutting edge peer-reviewed research this is a good place to search for articles on current scientific trends, discoveries and developments. Ellison Library provides electronic access to this title via all networked STA computers. In addition to the current issues we have access to the entire archive of Science, dating back to the journal's inception in 1880. It is not available for off-campus use yet. We also have the latest print copies that can be browsed in the library.
This magazine is published by the Society for Science & the Public, Science News is an excellent place to start researching your current affairs project. It offers accessible, up-to-date science news that will allow you to start building knowledge on your topic. Ellison Library provides electronic access to Science News, including its entire online archive, as well offering print copies that you can browse onsite.
Log-in- username: ellisonlibrary@cathedral.org password: ellison1
This popular science magazine is also an excellent place to begin searching for your topic and acquiring basic, generalized knowledge on it before pivoting to more advanced scholarship. Ellison Library is proud to offer full digital access to Scientific American as well as a print subscription.
Log-in- username: ellisonlibrary@cathedral.org password: ellison1
PLOS (Public Library of Science)
An innovative, freely available Open-Access repository of full-text, peer-reviewed articles and research. Much like the journal, Science, this resource will be most helpful after you've selected your topic and have begun building your knowledge base on the subject.
BioMed Central is another free Open-Acess portal featuring hundreds of quality science journals packed with full-text, peer-reviewed research.
This is a fantastic site full of multimedia biology resources, including videos, virtual labs, apps and more.
Directory of Open Access Journals
A tremendous archive of peer-reviewed open access research spanning all disciplines, including Biology
