19th Century School Books--University of Pittsburgh
This is a shortcut to the handful of digitized American history textbooks maintained by the University of Pittsburgh's Dr. John A. Nietz's Old Textbook Collection. This collection goes beyond just early history texts and would be an excellent source for those studying any aspects of the growth of education in America.
An excellent archive curated and maintained by the Library of Congress.
The American Presidency Project
Hosted by UC Santa Barbara, the American Presidency Project is the largest source of presidential archives on the internet. This archive contains over 120,000 digitized documents and is an excellent source for Presidential Papers and things of that nature.
An excellent resource containing the location and description of over 1,000 archival collections and institutions.
Denver Public Library Western History Division
These digital collections are excellent resources for those doing research on Westward Expansion, Native American History and other such areas of study.
An outgrowth of the District of Columbia Public Library's amazing Washingtoniana Collection, this resource is perfect for those doing their research on DC history.
Documenting the American South
This collection, curated by the University of North Carolina, is an excellent, expansive repository of primary sources documenting life in the American South.
Duke University Digital Collections
Duke University Libraries maintain a stellar digital archive that's particular strong in areas such as: African-American History, Women's History, American Song, the History of Advertising in America and much more
Library of Congress (LOC)--Free to Use and Reuse Sets
The LOC has put sections of its digital collections that are either in the public domain and/or otherwise legally free to use academically in a nice, easy to use landing spot. This collection is filled with photographs, posters and other fascinating pieces of Americana
The Making of America (Cornell)
From the Making of America website, this collection is "a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction." This particular collection is strong in the disciplines of American history, sociology, education, psychology, science and religion.
The Making of America (Michigan)
A partner collection to the above listed collection hosted by Cornell. The University of Michigan's collection, strong in many of the same areas as Cornell's, features an incredibly helpful 'Subject Browsing' feature that can help search the archive by subject/topic.
An excellent resource for those researching Westward Expansion and related facets of American History. The collection contains material pertaining to Nevada, Utah, Hawaii, Idaho and other points West.
Online Books Page: American History Textbooks--University of Pennsylvania
This collection, discovered by Ms. Woods, is a digitized selection of archival American history textbooks. This is a valuable resource for those studying numerous different aspects of American history and how it was chronicled and recounted in real time.
The National Archives and Record Administration (NARA) have compiled 100 Milestone Documents that have shaped American History from 1776 to 1965.
US Government Publishing Office -- Federal Digital System (FDsys)
FDsys provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Search for documents and publications — FDsys provides advanced search capabilities and the ability to refine and narrow your search for quick access to the information you need.
Browse for documents and publications — FDsys offers browsing by collection, Congressional committee, date, and Government author.
American University Library Catalog
Ellison Library has an institutional borrowing account with American University (AU). This means that you have access to millions of books outside of our own library collection. This catalog will help you see if AU has whatever book you may need. To request it, simply contact Mr. Kantz or Mr. Seese.
